THE RASMUS announce Eurovision competition entry & new single ‚Jezebel‘


Band to perform track and participate at
Finland’s UMK in Eurovision Finalist 2022 bid

Announce departure of founding guitarist Pauli Rantasalmi
& arrival of new member Emppu Suhonen

Multi-platinum selling Finnish rock band The Rasmus have revealed that they have entered Finland’s annual Eurovision selection contest, UMK, Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu (The New Music Competition). The band have also announced the release of their Eurovision entry bid and new single ‘Jezebel’ which will be available on 17th January 2022 via Playground Music. Pre-save it here.

Listen on Apple Music

‘Jezebel’ was co-written and produced by Desmond Child, who collaborated with The Rasmus on their seventh studio album ‘Black Roses’. Child is responsible for formulating some of rock’s biggest hits, with co-writer and production credits on iconic songs by KISS, Bon Jovi, Aerosmith and Alice Cooper, to name a few.

Singer Lauri Ylönen comments: „It was awesome to work with Desmond again. He really knows how to put a hit song together. Jezebel is about a girl who takes what she wants, without asking. A free spirit.”

Speaking about the collaboration, Desmond Child says: “Lauri gives me a call and says ‘Hey, I need to write the biggest, greatest song in the entire world, ever. Will you do it [with me]?’ and I said ‘Yeah but I am in Folegandros (Greece)’ and he says, ‘I’ll be right there’.
Jezebel is an homage, a tribute, to the strong women of today, who own their bodies, who are in charge of their sensuality, their sexuality, and who are determined to be an equal.”

The UMK winner and Finland’s next Eurovision Song Contest participant will be chosen at the UMK22 event in Turku Logomo on February 26, 2022. The final will be shown live on Yle TV1, Yle Areena and Yle’s radio channels from 9 pm to 11 pm EET. The winner will be chosen by TV viewers and the International UMK Jury. Those outside of Finland can watch the show at

There is more big news to share from The Rasmus, as they have announced that founding guitarist Pauli Rantasalmi has left the band. Pauli comments:

“I have decided to make my departure from the band and seek for new adventures and challenges in life.
I want to thank everybody that has made this journey possible,
especially all you amazing Fans, for the best moments and memories, I Love You.
I`m eternally thankful to my band brothers for everything and wish the best from the bottom of my heart. Lauri, Aki & Eero, I Love You.

Music lives forever!

„This is not the end, it’s just time to turn the page“

The remaining band members emphasise that it is an amicable split. “We have always been like a family, more like brothers than a band. We are still very good friends, and we wish Pauli all the best,” says Lauri.

The torch is passed to Finnish guitarist and singer, Emilia ‘Emppu’ Suhonen. Speaking of her invitation to join the band, Emppu says: “I got a very surprising call in the fall and answered YES. Although I was a bit nervous to go to the rehearsal room with the guys for the first time for a test drive, I still had a strong feeling that this would be a good thing. That feeling turned out to be right and playing together felt totally natural right from the first riff. I am The Rasmus‘ new guitarist, and it’s pretty insane to be on this ride!”

Emppu began playing the guitar when she was 5 years old and at 13, she made her album debut with the band Tiktak, who went on to become one of Finland’s biggest rock bands in the early 2000s. Since then, she has played in several bands including Dame, Alavala and Mira Luoti, amongst other projects. 

„At the moment I’m getting ready for the UMK and the upcoming gigs with this awesome band I’m now in, The Rasmus”, says Emppu. „Being part of this group is a dream come true on so many levels.“

Whist fans eagerly await the release of ‘Jezebel’, they can revisit the previously released singles from the band’s upcoming as-yet-untitled album:
“Venomous Moon” (feat. Apocalyptica)

Armed with a new arsenal of songs and a revitalised lineup, The Rasmus will embark on a World Tour in the fall of 2022.

October 2022
10    Germany    Hamburg / Markthalle
11    Germany    Berlin / Metropol
12    Poland    Warsaw / Proxima
13    Poland    Krakow / Kwadrat
14    Germany    Leipzig / Taubchental
15    Czech Rep.    Prague / Forum Karlin
17    Hungary    Budapest / BNMC
18    Austria    Vienna / Ottakringer Brauerei
19    Germany    Munich / Neue Theaterfabrik
21    Italy    Milan / Fabrique
22    Switzerland    Bern / Bierhubeli
23    France    Paris / La Maroquinerie
24    Luxembourg    Esch-Sur-Alzette / Rockhal
25    Germany    Wiesbaden / Schlachthof (Halfhouse)
27    Germany    Cologne / LMH
28    Holland    Haarlem / Patronaat
30    England    Nottingham / Rock City
31    England    Manchester / O2 Ritz

November 2022
01    Scotland    Glasgow / Garage
02    England    Bristol / O2 Academy
03    England    London / O2 Forum Kentish Town
05    Ukraine    Kiev / Mc Hall
06    Ukraine    Lviv / Malevich Club
07    Ukraine    Odessa / Musical Comedy Theatre
08    Ukraine    Dnipro / Shynnic House Of Culture
09    Ukraine    Kharekiv    
11    Russia    Moscow / Stadium
12    Russia    St Petersburg / A2

Lauri Ylönen – vocals
Eero Heinonen – bass
Emppu Suhonen – guitars
Aki Hakala – drums

The Rasmus online:

Photo Credit: Venla Shalin


Ähnliche Artikel

Schaltfläche "Zurück zum Anfang"