Samstag 25. März 2023

‚After The Storm‘ by DIANNE

Genre: Metal

Meistgelesene Artikel

- Anzeige - spot_img

After the Storm” is DIANNE VAN GIERSBERGEN’s  (ex-Xandria) long-awaited first solo single. Produced and co-written by Joost van den Broek (Powerwolf, Epica, Ayreon), featuring Isaac Delahaye (Epica) on guitar, Johan van Stratum (Blind Guardian, Stream of Passion) on bass guitar, Koen Herfst ( Van den Berg, Armin van Buuren) on drums and released under her own name “DIANNE”.  It’s symphonic metal, it’s power metal and it’s topped with DIANNE’s characteristic, dramatic operatic voice.

DIANNE photo credit: Blackbriar

After the Storm” is a song about standing up for yourself and abandoning your position as a pawn in someone else’s war. The lyrics are autobiographical and discuss her emotional rollercoaster of anger, betrayal, deep regret but also the foresight of a new dawn and the goal to emerge stronger. A heartfelt story, captured in a cinematic video (by Blackbriar) that will accompany the single’s release.

Listeners of the symphonic metal genre who enjoyed DIANNE’s voice in Xandria, but also fans from Nightwish, Epica, Powerwolf and similar bands, will definitely be thrilled to hear DIANNE’s music.

After the Storm” will be released on February 14th 2023, Valentine’s Day. A date deliberately chosen to highlight that she has come full circle with the last single she released with Xandria in 2017: „Queen of Hearts Reborn“.

On the 13th of September, exactly 5 years after her departure from Xandria, DIANNE announced her return into symphonic metal through the creation of her own solo album: “Soulward Bound”, of which “After the Storm” will be the first single.

Her album title „Soulward Bound“ embodies the drive and devotion that guided DIANNE on her journey towards finding herself again. To have the album mirror her journey, “Soulward Bound” will be released in a new and unconventional way: spread out over 5 years, with 2 singles each year. Like its first single, the album will be co-written and produced by Joost van den Broek and feature many guest musicians from the genre.

DIANNE VAN GIERSBERGEN (1985) is a Dutch dramatic soprano, who is best known as the former lead vocalist of German symphonic metal band Xandria. With whom she toured the world and released 2 albums and 1 EP: “Sacrificium” (2014), “Fire & Ashes” (2015) and “Theater of Dimensions” (2017), all through Napalm Records.
Currently, DIANNE is frontwoman of progressive metal band ‘Ex Libris’, which she founded in 2004. Their latest and third album “ANN” was self-released in 2019. Earlier on, the band released “Amygdala” (2008) and “Medea” (2014).

You might have also seen DIANNE on stage with Ayreon during the ‚Into the Electric Castle‘ live shows (2019) or heard her voice on Powerwolf’s „The Sacrament of Sin“ (2018), Ayreon’s „Transitus“ (2020) and/or Amorphis‘  „Halo“ (2022).
DIANNE received her first singing lesson at the age of 4. In 2005 she started her bachelor studies in classical music & opera at the ‚ArtEZ Academy of Music‘ conservatory. She graduated with distinction in 2009 (bachelor) and in 2012 (master).

Music video by ‚Blackbriar‘ –
Dress by ‚The Tailor With‘ –
Armour by ‚Mytholon‘ –
Jewelry by ‚Precious Metal Jewelry‘ –

Produced, orchestrated and co-written by Joost van den Broek –
Isaac Delahaye (Epica) on guitar
Johan van Stratum (Blind Guardian, Stream of Passion) on bass guitar
Koen Herfst ( Van den Berg, Armin van Buuren) on drums

follow DIANNE online: 
Website | Facebook | Instagram | YouTube | Spotify | Soundcloud

- Anzeige -spot_img

Neuste Artikel