Sonntag 5. Februar 2023

RISE ABOVE – Times Of Clarity

Meistgelesene Artikel

- Anzeige - spot_img

“RISE ABOVE fly the flag for Norwegian hardcore punk. Fast, furious, and we absolutely love it.”

After a two-year public silence, RISE ABOVE recently returned to release their debut album “Times of Clarity”. Since 2016, they’ve been one of the bigger hardcore punk bands in Norway.

Before even having put out any music, the band was booked to play at Øyafestivalen — the largest music festival in the country. The same year as, among others, Kvelertak, Mastodon, and Eagles of Death Metal.

External delays, a pandemic, member changes, and one broken drummer arm ultimately culminated in a 14-track apocalyptic colossus. 43 minutes of fine-tuned noise, catchy melodies, intertwined lyrics, and explorative fringes. “Times of Clarity” is a roller coaster of sound from start to finish.

Vocalist Thomas Holler has this to say about their debut: “Times of Clarity is filled to the brim with things we haven’t done before. It has ups, downs, hards, and softs. And I guess that’s what a debut album should be. At least when it’s been 5 years since the last time we released music. Anything else would be boring.”

Their 4-track debut EP “Sounds of Liberation” from 2016 was very well received, and Norwegian music radio channel P3 put several of their songs into rotation. They were also made „Artist of the week“ on P3s Urørt. Their reasoning reads: “A violently passionate, but at the same time meaningful first meeting with a very promising band. An adrenaline rush from start to end.”

The following singles from 2017, “Up” and “Gold”, also garnered positive reviews, but this time also outside of Norway: “RISE ABOVE fly the flag for Norwegian hardcore punk. Gold is an absolute banger. Fast, furious, and we absolutely love it.”

Words like these enabled the band to play at festivals like Slottsfjell, SPOT festival, TUNGHØRT, and Sørveiv in 2017 and 2018. In the middle of all this, work on what eventually became “Times of Clarity” was begun, and the band soon headed back into The Tune Park in Bergen to record it.

Now, almost 3 years in the making, their debut album is finally out where you consume music.

1. Time
2. Augury
3. Down
4. Heights
5. Blue
6. Throne
7. Phoenix
8. Savannah
9. Clarity
10. Sirens
11. Lights
12. Shadows
13. Fate
14. Doom

Produced and engineered by Esteban Munoz
Recorded at Tune Park Studio in Bergen, Norway
Mixed and mastered by Dag Erik Nygaard
Performed by Bendik Hildebrand, Cato Nystøl, Håkon Nygaard, Roy Nystøl, and Thomas Holler
Additional performances by Esteban Munoz and Eivind Nyhammer
Lyrics by Thomas Holler

(left to right on photo „gang“)
Mathias Øren (27, guitar)
Bendik Hildebrand (29, bass)
Cato Nystøl (30, drums)
Thomas Holler (28, vocals)
Håkon Nygaard (24, guitar)

- Anzeige -spot_img

Neuste Artikel